Karl Zünd Stiftung
< BACK

The Matho Project, Ladakh


A 470 m2 museum on three floors is being created at the Matho monastery in Ladakh in the Indian Himalayas. The aim is to keep and make accessible the monastery’s collection of Buddhist art. This collection covers an enormous cross-section of Buddhist art from the Himalayas.

Construction work began in 2011, with the museum inaugurated on 1 July 2016. Three different themes are addressed on the three floors:

A journey back into the past illustrates the origins of the various styles and the unique craftsmanship.

A Who’s Who of Buddhas, Bodhisattwas, divinities, lamas, as well as an overview of Buddhist philosophy.

It offers a magical voyage through the history of the Matho monastery and its monastic rituals.

The project was initiated by a young Frenchwoman, an expert in the restoration of ancient artworks and cultural items from northern India, in close co-operation with the Matho monastery. Women from the region are being trained to practise this handicraft and will thus in future be able to introduce the restoration of precious old cultural items and artworks into other monasteries. Only traditional and natural construction materials – the trees and earth of the Matho Valley – were used by local craftsmen in the building of the museum. After the opening, the monks and restorers will be jointly responsible for running the museum and conducting guided tours. Local jobs are thus secured, while a museum shop will cover operating costs. Rising numbers of visitors will also provide employment opportunities for local people.

The completion of the project has involved numerous people, ranging in age from 20 to 65 from all over the world. Restorers work alongside art students from Paris. Monks instruct language researchers from Vienna. Men and women from the village are directed by hipster architects from Berlin.

The result is an inspiring mixture of traditional wisdom and innovation.

mathomuseumproject.com

Karl Zünd Stiftung
< ZURÜCK

The Matho Project, Ladakh


Im Matho Kloster in Ladakh im indischen Himalaya entsteht auf drei Stockwerken ein 470 m2 grosses Museum. Es soll die klösterliche Sammlung buddhistischer Kunst erhalten und zugänglich machen. Diese Sammlung umfasst einen riesigen Querschnitt durch die buddhistische Kunst aus dem Himalaya.

Die Bauarbeiten sind seit 2011 im Gange, das Museum wird am 1. Juli 2016 eingeweiht. Auf den drei Stockwerken werden drei Themen behandelt:

  • Mit einer Zeitreise zurück in die alten Zeiten werden die Ursprünge der Stilrichtungen und der einzigartigen Kunstfertigkeit aufgezeigt.

  • Ein Who is Who von Buddhas, Bodhisattwas, Gottheiten, Lamas, … und ein Überblick über die buddhistische Philosophie.

  • Eine Zauberreise durch die Geschichte des Matho Klosters und seiner Mönchsrituale.

Das Projekt wurde von einer jungen französischen Expertin für Restaurationen alter nordindischer Kunst- und Kulturgüter in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kloster von Matho initiiert. Frauen aus der Region werden in dieses Kunsthandwerk eingeführt und so in die Lage versetzt, künftig in anderen Klöstern die Restauration von kostbaren alten Kulturgütern und Kunstwerken an die Hand zu nehmen. Für den Museumsbau verwenden die einheimischen Handwerker ausschliesslich traditionelle und natürliche Baustoffe: die Bäume und die Erde des Matho Tals. Nach der Eröffnung des Museums werden die Mönche und die Restauratorinnen gemeinsam für Betrieb und Führungen zuständig sein. Die Arbeitsplätze bleiben also vor Ort, ein Museumsladen wird die Betriebskosten decken. Steigende Besucherzahlen werden auch für die Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten bringen.

Bis es so weit ist, ist ein bunter Haufen von Menschen zwischen 20 und 65 aus der ganzen Welt auf der Baustelle: Die Konservatorinnen arbeiten Seite an Seite mit Kunststudenten aus Paris, Mönche unterweisen Wiener Sprachforscher und Männer und Frauen aus dem Dorf nehmen Anweisungen von Hipster-Architekten aus Berlin entgegen.

So entsteht eine inspirierende Mischung von traditioneller Weisheit und Innovation.

mathomuseumproject.com